Members of our Frontbench are from a diverse range of backgrounds and share core Labour Party values of social justice, equality of opportunity and fairness. Many are experts in their fields and bring their talents to the Lords. We work constructively with colleagues around the House to scrutinise and improve legislation. We do not shy away from asking the most difficult questions or from challenging the government on its proposals. As the official Opposition it is our duty to oppose proposals that we believe are wrong and propose improvements where legislation can be improved.

Jan Royall


Andrew Adonis

(HMT - Infrastructure) 

Willy Bach


Jeremy Beecham

(DCLG, Justice)

Ray Collins 


Neil Davidson 

(Advocate General, HMT, Scotland)

Bryan Davies 

(Transport, HMT)

Charlie Falconer 

(Constitutional Affairs)

John Grantchester


Dianne Hayter

(Cabinet Office, BIS)

Steve Bassam

(Chief Whip)

Bev Hughes


Maggie Jones

(Education, DCMS)

Roy Kennedy

(Cabinet Office, CLG)

Tommy McAvoy

(Northern Ireland, Scotland)

Bill McKenzie


Eluned Morgan

(Wales, FCO)

Richard Rosser

(Defence, Home Office, Transport)

Maeve Sherlock



Philip Hunt

(Deputy Leader, Health)

Angela Smith

(Deputy Chief Whip, Home Office, Northern Ireland)

Wilf Stevenson


Glenys Thornton


David Triesman


Denis Tunnicliffe

(Deputy Chief Whip, HMT, Defence)

Margaret Wheeler


Stewart Wood

(Minister without portfolio)

Bryony Worthington

(DECC, Transport)

Tony Young


Do you like this page?


Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

The Labour Party will place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better.

Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site.

To find out more about these cookies, see our privacy notice. Use of this site confirms your acceptance of these cookies.